crazy-raver's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Global Cultural Dance Off

I always have problems starting an entry.

When I don't know what to write, I'll read a random entry and try to gain some insight from another's plight. Not today, so don't worry.

I'm still recovering.

Now that I'm typing, I forgot to mention that I went to the Global Dance Festival in Kansas City. I've gone the previous years, but this year I went with a fairly large group. That was interesting. I like to keep the number people to a minimum of five but eight is usually a bit much. Luckily the level of drama never escalated to a point of verbal arguments or physical violence.

There was A, B, and C. Lets call those ladies, The Alphabets. Then there was One, Two, Three, and Four. Four is my brother, but he connected well with the group so he earned a number. Lets call the guys, The Numbers.

The day started with Four and I picking up Three, and making our way to One's residence. It was a short air-conditionless car ride to One's. We got in to town and ran some errands and arrived at his house around noon. The Alphabets would arrive soon after. Two was running a little late, so we met up with him at a gas station. He convinced himself that leaving his car at a gas station would be no problem.

"You can do whatever you want." I chuckled.

We packed in to the gas station nabbed some booze and decided to get this weekend started.

The two and a half hour drive turned in to a warming two and a half hour drinking game. I had a nice Asian glow going, but the party came to a screeching halt when we arrived at our destination. The Motel.

I could forgive the spare tires outside the front desk. I could forget some below average reviews online. There were too many unforgivable issues; vacant rooms ajar and unkempt, horribly rude costumer service representatives, and before we checked in there were people in our fucking rooms!

It just so happens that this room was also ajar and a local homeless man thought this place would be a good place to crash. I guess you know its bad when the clerk tells you to look at the rooms before you check in.

We quickly booked ourselves a nice suite closer to the venue of the festival. We each paid an extra Twenty, but it was worth it. Yes. Most DEFINITELY.

I slumped down, my buzz no where in sight, and waited for the Alphabets and Numbers to get ready.

The selection of artists were not on par with previous years, but one artist stood out from the rest. BT. He made my night. His energy was well received.

The night comes to an end and we all crashed that night. We crashed, Hard.

I blacked out the next night. It's something I shame myself in. "This kid!" I say to myself.

That was that weekend. Simply good music and good friends. Oh! And Barbecue! Good Barbecue!

This weekend was tame in comparison to the previous.

A few drinks and some good house music. MMMmm so chill. I got this week to recover and start building myself up for this upcoming weekend. It's the 515 Alive-Urban Music and Arts Festival. The line ups aren't too awesome, but I plan to move the scene with my energy and love. It's sad that so many people don't understand the feelings of PLUR. One may know the meaning, but this is something you experience and feel first hand.

I'd say I am at 89% of normality. Tea this week with some meditation and no night cap should bring me back to full.

I planned on going off on another Cultural Asian stint but I'm pretty worn out. Summary: Sometimes I'm sad to be Asian American.

Readers, before you go, I really wish you'd click on this video below. I'm not asking for more views, rather I just want to give you a little peace after reading this entry.

That's it for now,

Goodnight ladies and gentlemen,

~good

7:00 p.m. - 2013-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

warpednormal
angelic-echo
chakong-kong

web trends